My brother’s friend passed away in an accident. He was very cool. He always encouraged me. It was a huge shock to everyone. I just went jogging with him the past week. I still remember those memories. I was sad and afraid to say something. Death is painful to the dear ones. It’s indeed depressing. We must hope they Rest In Peace. No one can understand what their family is going through. But in this time, you are to be very careful of our words. You can end up speaking something wrong. But actually you were meaning to say something else.  In this post, I want to share some things that you can say when someone passes away.  

Writing in a Card:

  You can use these same messages in social media sites like Facebook and Whatsapp to share your love and care for the deceased’s family.

To Closest Friends and Family

   

Sympathy Message to Deceased Old Person:

Things to Avoid:

Some Questions:

My partner’s pet has passed away. She loved her more than herself. How can I comfort her? Dogs or cats are also like our family members. When we love them, we forget they are pets. And when they die, the pain doesn’t pass away quickly. Acknowledge to your partner that you think that the pet is also a part of the family. And make a proper goodbye so that it soothes her pain. My parent’s friend passed away. What can I say to them? Since they are older. Maintain silence most of the time. And say a few respectful words such as, ‘My father always talks about Uncle, and how wonderful a person he was’. And some advice that he has given to you. You can share it and say that his advice was always helpful to you. My relative died of alcohol addiction. What should I say to his family? It is a great loss indeed. Understand them and show your sincere sympathy in your words. Comfort them by telling how he has helped you or someone that you know. You can share your care for them by telling them some good experiences of him which no one knows. That would really comfort them. My friend passed away fighting cancer. How could I comfort them? Cancer is a terrible disease. Many families have been broken by depression. Talk to them as their own son. Avoid trying to encourage them. It can be rude sometimes. You can share what good things he said about his family to you. And that he will rest in peace in all our memories. He died unexpectedly. So help his family with your care and concern.

 

When my brother’s friend passed away, I tried to remain mostly quiet. And spoke short sentences about him. I expressed my care by telling them that he was proud of his family. And that he loved his family more than he actually told them. Because in the end, the deceased person’s family has to know that he loved them more than they could imagine.
 

twitter facebook linkedin whatsapp

This subscription won’t wake you up in middle of the night, we are not your sweetheart! Register today for free and get notified on trending updates. I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.